# **Awards and Honors**

Students

SPS National Outstanding Chapter, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009

#### **Rhodes Scholars**

Lara Anderson, 2004 Sydney Chamberlin, 2008 (finalist)

#### Marshall Scholar

Lara Anderson, 2004

#### **Fulbright Student Scholar**

Jan Marie Andersen, 2007

#### **University Valedictorian**

Lara Anderson, 2003

#### **Utah Governor's Scholar**

Jennifer Albretsen, 2005

#### **Goldwater Scholars**

Lara Anderson, 2001
Jamie Jorgensen, 2002
David Hatch, 2004
Heidi Wheelwright, 2006
Keith Warnick, 2006 (HM)
Jennifer Albretsen, 2007
Jodie Tvedtnes, 2007 (HM)
Tamara Jeppson, 2008
Jodie Barker-Tvedtnes, 2008
Sydney Chamberlin, 2008 (HM)
Taren McKenna, 2009
BJ Myers, 2009 (HM)
Dan Fenn, 2010

# Robert Call, 2010 (HM) NSF Graduate Fellows

Lara Anderson, 2004 Jan Marie Andersen, 2010 Nathan Carruth, 2010, 2007 (HM), 2009 (HM) Eric Addison, 2010 (HM)

#### SPS National Leadership Scholar

Jodie Barker-Tvedtnes, 2008

#### AIAA/USU Small Satellite Conference Redd Scholar

Ryan Hoffmann, 2008

# Conference Awards APS: Robert Davies, 1998

Arlynda Wright Jorgensen, 1998 Ryan Hoffman, 2005, 2006 Jan Marie Andersen, 2006 Michael Addae-Kagyah, 2006 Keith Warnick, 2006 Jennifer Albretsen, 2007 Sydney Chamberlin, 2007 Jonathan Pugmire, 2009 Richard Wilson, 2009 Alec Sim, 2009 AGU: Chris Smithro, 2002, 2003 Kim Neilson, 2005 Josh Herron, 2005 CEDAR: Chris Olsen, 2003 Kim Nielsen, 2006 Jon Thompson, 2009

Dirac Centennial: Lara Anderson, 2004

#### COS Outstanding Teaching Assistants

Tumkur Raghuran, 1992 Balraj Menon, 1997 Tonya Caldwell, 2002 Matthew Bailey, 2007

#### COS Outstanding Undergraduate Researchers

David Hatch, 2004 Jan Marie Andersen, 2007 Sydney Chamberlin, 2009

#### SPS Outstanding Undergraduate Researcher

Jodie Barker-Tvedtnes, 2008 Sydney Chamberlin, 2009 (HM)

## **Awards and Honors**

Faculty and Staff

#### **USU Department Teaching Excellence Award, 2005**

#### Carnegie Utah Professors

Jan Sojka, 2002 David Peak, 2009

#### **University Outstanding Professor**

Farrell Edwards, 1977

### **Robins Awards for Advising**

Deborah Reece, 2000 David Peak, 2008

#### USU Outstanding Professional Employee

James Coburn, 2008

#### Cazier University Professor

Gordon Lind, 1995

#### Last Lectures

Farrell Edwards, 1982 David Peak, 2008

#### **USU Alumni Professor**

J.R. Dennison, 1999

### **COS Outstanding Teachers**

Farrell Edwards, 1975 Harry Ottesen, 1982 Jill Marshall, 1997 J.R. Dennison, 1999 David Peak, 2003

#### **COS Outstanding Advisers**

Harry Ottesen, 1992 David Peak, 2008

#### COS Outstanding UG Research Mentors

David Peak, 2005 J.R. Dennison, 2009

#### **Fellows**

Allen Howard, IEEE, 1992 Robert Schunk, AGU, 2000

# Wynn Thorne Award for Outstanding Research

Peter Banks, 1981 Robert Schunk, 1983 Marsha Torr, 1983 Wilford Hansen, 1984 John Raitt, 1996 Jan Sojka, 1999

#### Governor's Medals of Science

Wilford Hansen, 1987 Robert Schunk, 1988 Gil Moore, 1991 Tom Wilkerson, 2007 Farrell Edwards, 2009

#### **NASA Achievement Awards**

J.R. Dennison, 2003 Michael Taylor, 2008

#### **COS Outstanding Researchers**

John Raitt, 1995 Charles Torre, 2000

#### President's Leadership Council Outstanding Faculty Member Jill Marshall, 1997

APS Prize for Research Done with

**Undergraduates**David Peak, 1996

HM - honorable mention, COS - College of Science, AGU - American Geophysical Union, APS - American Physical Society, NSF - National Science Foundation,

IEEE - Institute for Electrical and Electronics Engineering, CEDAR - Coupling, Energetics and Dynamics of Atmospheric Regions Program of NSF